Ron Paul on Foreign Policy

I admit I may not agree 100% with Ron Paul on everything.  I may find him to be too harsh at times.  For instance, I have a hard time equating taxation with theft.  To do so is to negate the efficacy of any taxation, or any state, for that matter, funded by coercion of any sort.  I’m not sure what this would do to the Constitution.

With that in mind, I find his recent remarks (see here) on foreign policy enlightening and refreshing.  I cannot for the life of me understand why so few refuse to take this common-sense, historical, and Constitutional approach to foreign policy.  Why is it so hard to comprehend antipathy to a foreign policy hostile to so many?

2 Comments

Filed under Austrian Economics, fiscal policy, foreign policy, Libertarian, politics, role of government, Ron Paul, War

2 responses to “Ron Paul on Foreign Policy

  1. I love the plaque on Ron Paul’s desk which reads “Don’t steal, the government hates competition”.

    I agree that his foreign policy makes so much sense its hard to understand how people can continue to feel to hostile towards it.

  2. Carissa

    I’m not sure Ron Paul equates taxation with theft the way the hard-core libertarians do. I’ve never heard him say anything like that. He does want to eliminate the INCOME tax and the inflation tax, but that would still leave tariffs, excise taxes, user fees, highway fees, etc. Still plenty for a (small, constitutional, non-interventionist) federal government to run on.

    I LOVE his foreign policy ideas. I don’t understand why so many more LDS’s don’t also embrace it.

Leave a Reply

